Spring

WIN! Celebrate St Patrick’s Day With Some Brilliant Irish Fiction

Happy St Patrick’s Day! To celebrate our love of the Emerald Isle we’re giving you the chance to win a bundle of books from some of our all-time favourite Irish authors.
Rather than spending the evening trying to convince yourself you really do like Guinness, why not curl up with the very best in Irish story-telling instead?

Edna O’Brien’s Country Girls Trilogy is out now in paperback & eBook.

Edna O’Brien’s The Country Girls

Edna O’Brien’s Country Girls Trilogy caused a sensation when it was first published in the 1960s by challenging the moral standing of the Roman Catholic Church in Ireland .  ‘Ireland’s greatest female writer’ – TATLER

In a country village in Ireland Caithleen Brady and her attractive friend Baba are on the verge of womanhood and dreaming of spreading their wings in a wider world; of discovering love and luxury and liquor and above all, fun.

The girls romp their way through convent school to the bright lights of Dublin – where Caithleen finds that suave, idealised lovers rarely survive the real world.

Ella Griffin’s The Flower Arrangement

Perfect for fans of Marian Keyes and Maeve Binchy,  Ella Griffin returns with a delightful, life-affirming new novel.

From the window of her shop, Blossom & Grow, Lara watches those who’ve bought her flowers head off to face all manner of life-changing occasions. No stranger to heartbreak herself, Lara knows that flowers can say more than words ever can.

Beneath the twinkly fairylights, surrounded by buckets heaving with flowers, customers spill their secrets, the things they want to say, the things they wished they’d said. Lara can always find a way to bring their message to life.

Weaving together a delightful cast of characters, Ella Griffin’s gorgeous new novel brings her warmth, wit and wisdom to the comings and goings of a little Irish florist.

The Flower Arrangement is out in trade paperback & eBook 4th June 2015

Ghost Moth is out now in paperback, eBook & audio.

Michèle Forbes’ Ghost Moth

Acclaimed by three Booker Prize winners and shortlisted for Newcomer of the Year at the Irish Book Awards, Ghost Moth is an utterly haunting novel about love, loss and the ties that bind us.

Ghost Moth will transport you to two hot summers, 20 years apart.

Northern Ireland, 1949. Katherine must choose between George Bedford – solid, reliable, devoted George – and Tom McKinley, who makes her feel alive.

The reverberations of that summer – of the passions that were spilled, the lies that were told and the bargains that were made – still clamour to be heard in 1969.

Rachael English’s Each & Every One

From the award-winning presenter on Ireland’s RTE Radio 1. Warm, wise and witty, Each and Every One is a novel about the lessons we learn in life – and the ones we never do.

Gus and Joan worked hard to give their children everything – a comfortable home in a leafy Dublin neighbourhood, gap years that never seem to end and an open chequebook for life’s little emergencies.

Unfortunately, although the children have grown up, they are a little too comfortable with the well-feathered nest: now it’s time to learn a few home truths

Each & Every One is out now in trade paperback, eBook & audio. Out in paperback

It Started With Paris is out now in trade paperback, eBook and audio. Out in paperback 2nd July.

Cathy Kelly’s It Started With Paris

At the top of the Eiffel Tower, a young man proposes to his girlfriend – and in that second, everything changes – for the couple, but also for their families back in Ireland…

With her warmth and insight, Cathy  weaves a delightful tale spinning out from a once-in-a-lifetime moment, drawing together a terrific cast of characters who feel like old friends.

No. 1 bestseller Cathy Kelly returns with a funny, emotional, heart-warming new novel.

Maeve Binchy’s Chestnut Street 

No Irish fiction round-up would be complete without a mention of Maeve Binchy, one of the world’s best-loved storytellers and ‘Ireland’s national treasure’ (THE TELEGRAPH).

Just round the corner from St Jarlath’s Crescent (which you might remember  from Minding Frankie) is Chestnut Street. Here, the lives of the residents are revealed in Maeve Binchy’s wonderfully compelling tales:

No one rivals Maeve for stories of warmth, kindness, love, loss – and life not always turning out as expected.

Win a set of all the books we’ve featured by entering our St Patrick’s Day giveaway!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

UK & Ire only. Competition closes at midnight on 21.03.15. Read full T&Cs here.

Chestnut Street is out now in hardback, trade paperback, eBook and audio. Out in paperback June 4th.